Enter your keyword


IAS – Indian Administrative Service

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts The Civil Services Examination (CSE)

IAS Courses

  • Foundation Courses
  • IAS Prelims
  • IAS Prelims Cum Mains
  • IAS Mains
  • IAS Mains Optional Subjects


Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), Indian Police Service (IPS) , Indian Revenue Service (IRS) etc …

IAS Exam Age Limits

Candidate must have completed 21 years of age. General category candidates are allowed 6 attempts and maximum age allowed is 32. There is no limit to number of attempts to SC/ST candidates and maximum age limit allowed is 37. OBC candidates have been given 9 attempts and maximum age allowed is 35.

Educational Qualification

Candidates must hold graduation degree / Candidate who have appeared in qualifying degree is also eligible for UPSC – IAS

Numbers of attempts

The number of times a candidate may attempt the exam is limited as follows
General category candidates = 6
OBC category candidates = 7
SC/ST candidates = unlimited attempts till 37 years of age
Appearing to attempt one of the papers in the preliminary examination is counted as an attempt, including disqualification/ cancellation of candidature. However, applying to sit the exam but failing to attend is not counted as an attempt